Monday, October 8, 2012

PM Kamla congratulates Windies on T20 victory

The West Indies team celebrates after their T20 victory in Sri Lanka
Prime minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar on Sunday congratulated the victorious West Indies cricket team that defeated Sri Lanka to win the T20 tournament in Colombo. 

“Brilliant, inspiring, thrilling” were some of the adjectives she used describe the historic achievement of the West Indies Cricket team. 

She stated, “The victory of the West Indies Cricket team as World T20 Champions is testament to the resilience and tenacity of the region’s never-say-die spirit and serves as a reminder to West Indians that international greatness and talent is not determined by the size of our nations, but rather by the extent of our drive and passion. 

"The team rallied to a convincing thirty six run victory over the tournament’s host nation Sri Lanka to win their first world title in 33 years since the 50-over World Cup triumph under Clive Lloyd in 1979."

Persad-Bissessar congratulated Captain Darren Sammy and the entire West Indies team, noting that of the eight T&T nationals on the 15-man squad six of them were on the field in Sunday's final.

She said Cricket is regarded as the strongest unifying force of the region. “Indeed, Cricket is a West Indian game, and this victory will see a strengthening of the game’s interest and influence in the entire region," she said. 

"After a very strong and proud showing for the CARICOM nations at the recently concluded London Olympic Games this World T20 Cricket Championship title certainly reminds us of the power of SPORT to inspire and unify people of all races, classes and creeds. 

"As a region we are all buoyed by this victory and again congratulate and thank this group of proud West Indians whose determination, work ethic and sacrifice allowed the rest of us this historic day to cheer and bask in the glory of international success," she added.

No comments:

Jai & Sero

Jai & Sero

Our family at home in Toronto 2008

Our family at home in Toronto 2008
Amit, Heather, Fuzz, Aj, Jiv, Shiva, Rampa, Sero, Jai