Saturday, September 28, 2013

Partnership concludes negotiartions on seat allocations for LGE

The People's Partnership has agreed on the seat allocation among its three Trinidad members for the October 21 Local Government Election (LGE).

The United National Congress (UNC) will contest:
  1. Mayaro/Rio Claro
  2. Princes Town
  3. Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo
  4. Sangre Grande
  5. Penal/Debe
  6. Siparia
  7. Chaguanas
  8. San Juan/Laventille
The Congress of the People (COP) will field candidates five regional corporations: 
  1. Tunapuna
  2. Diego Martin
  3. San Fernando
  4. Arima
  5. Port of Spain
And the National Joint Action Committee (NJAC) will contest the Point Fortin corporation.

Under the new rules, each party would have to present its list of Aldermen in time for Monday's nomination day. This year, for the first time in Trinidad, these local government officials would be elected through a system of proptional representation.

The People’s Partnership will present its local government candidates at Harris at a meeting at Promenade, San Fernando on Monday.

UNC Deputy Leader Dr Roodal Moonilal told local media there would be some sharing between his party and other PP members in Tunapuna and San Juan/Laventille. He said NJAC will take the lead in Point Fortin but UNC will have some candidates there.

In the July 26, 2010 LGE the PP won 11 of the 14 corporations with the majority going to the UNC. The PNM won the other three - Port of Spain, San Juan/Laventille and Point Fortin.

No comments:

Jai & Sero

Jai & Sero

Our family at home in Toronto 2008

Our family at home in Toronto 2008
Amit, Heather, Fuzz, Aj, Jiv, Shiva, Rampa, Sero, Jai