Thursday, August 1, 2013

President Carmona appoints 4 new senators

President Anthony Carmona has revoked the appointments of four of nine senators appointed by his predecessor and named their replacements, who would take their oaths of office when the new session of Parliament begins.

The senators who are leaving are:

  1. Corinne Baptiste-McKnight
  2. James Armstrong
  3. Prof. Harold Ramkissoon
  4. Dr Lennox St Bernard
The four new senators are:
  1. Dr Dhanayshar Mahabir, a leading economist
  2. Hugh Russell Ian Roach, an attorney with experience in civil, criminal, public, labour and military law
  3. Anthony Vieira, practising attorney-at-law in civil, industrial, family and criminal law
  4. David Small, Energy expert
According to the constitution the president appoints nine of the 31 senators, the government appoints 16 and the othe six are appointed by the opposition.

A senate appointment can be revoked at any time.

No comments:

Jai & Sero

Jai & Sero

Our family at home in Toronto 2008

Our family at home in Toronto 2008
Amit, Heather, Fuzz, Aj, Jiv, Shiva, Rampa, Sero, Jai