Monday, January 21, 2013

D-Day for Tobago. Polls close at 6:00 PM

The people of Tobago are voting Monday in an election to decide who will control the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) for the next four years. The official list shows that 46,601 people are eligible vote. 

Thirty-six candidates from three parties are contesting the election in the 12 electoral districts. 

In the last election in 2009 there were 42,623 registered voters; 23,916 actually turned up at polling stations, an estimated 56.39 per cent. This year the electorate has increased by 3,978 or 8.54 per cent.

The People's National Movement (PNM) is seeking a fourth consecutive term. The party was first elected in 2001, defeating the National Alliance for Reconstruction (NAR) that was led at the time by Hochoy Charles.

Charles is back in the contest representing a new party, the Platform for Truth (TPT). However most polls suggest that his party's support is negligible.

The third party - the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) led by Ashworth Jack - is a member of the governing People's Partnership coalition. It controls the two seats in the national Parliament and had four of the 12 seats in the last THA.

Both the TOP and the PNM led by Chief Secretary Orville London are confident of victory.

Polls will open for 12 hours from six in the morning. And the national electronic media are expected to be broadcast the results from about eight in the evening. JYOTI will post results as soon as they are available.

You can get the results by logging on to CNMG and clicking LIVE STREAM.

No comments:

Jai & Sero

Jai & Sero

Our family at home in Toronto 2008

Our family at home in Toronto 2008
Amit, Heather, Fuzz, Aj, Jiv, Shiva, Rampa, Sero, Jai