Thursday, November 1, 2012

46,127 registered to vote in THA election

The acting chief elections officer of the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) Ramesh Nanan confirmed on Wednesday that 46,127 people are registered to vote in the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) election. Nanan told the Express newspaper that was the figure on October 1, 2012.

THA Chief Secretary Orville London dissolved the assembly last week but the election date is yet to be set. The election must be held no sooner than two months following the dissolution of the THA and no later than three months.

London has suggested a date to President Richards who must consult with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar before accepting the date.
Elections in Trinidad & Tobago are traditionally held on Mondays. If this is followed the most likely dates for the election are January 14 or 21, 2013.
Nanan confirmed that Tobago has 67 polling divisions. "We are looking to establish around 97 polling stations," he told the Express. 

There are 12 electoral districts in Tobago, each representing a seat in the THA. The PNM held 8 and the Tobago Organisation of the the People (TOP) had the other four. The districts are: 
  1. Bacolet/Mount St George
  2. Belle Garden/Goodwood
  3. Bethel/Mt Irvine
  4. Black Rock/Whim/Spring Garden
  5. Buccoo/Mount Pleasant
  6. Canaan/Bon Accord
  7. Lambeau/Signal Hill
  8. Parlatuvier/ L'Anse Fourmi/ Speyside
  9. Plymouth/Golden Lane
  10. Providence/Mason Hall/Moriah
  11. Roxborough/Delaford
  12. Scarborough/Calder Hall

No comments:

Jai & Sero

Jai & Sero

Our family at home in Toronto 2008

Our family at home in Toronto 2008
Amit, Heather, Fuzz, Aj, Jiv, Shiva, Rampa, Sero, Jai